Board of Directors, 2023-24

Our board of directors provides guidance for and supervision of NCABR’s activities. It is made up of individuals from NCABR’s member institutions.

The Executive Committee, elected by the full board of directors, is responsible for implementing NCABR’s programs.

Dr. Dorcas P. O’Rourke Chair Executive Committee

Professor & Chair, Department of Comparative Medicine
Brody School of Medicine
Attending Veterinarian
East Carolina University

Dr. Craig Fletcher Executive Committee Vice Chair

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Director, Division of Comparative Medicine
Chair & Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ms. Colleen Bennett Executive Committee Treasurer

Assistant Director, Oversight and Outreach
Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Dr. Jason Painter Executive Committee Secretary

Director, The Science House
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Teacher Education and Learning Sciences
North Carolina State University

Dr. Schantel Bouknight Executive Committee

Director of Pathology
Charles River Laboratories

Dr. Dondrae Coble Ex Officio Executive Committee

Chief, Comparative Medicine Branch
Attending Veterinarian
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Dr. Robert A. Lindberg Executive Committee

Vice President
Science & Technology Development Program
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Dr. John N. Norton Executive Committee

Professor of Pathology
University Veterinarian
Director, Division of Laboratory Animal Resources
Duke University

Dr. Jenora T. Waterman Executive Committee

Associate Professor of Biology
Director, Applied Science & Technology Ph.D. Program
College of Science & Technology
North Carolina A&T State University

Dr. Christine Becker

Assistant Vice President, Enterprise Research
Atrium Health

Dr. Charles A. Carter

Professor and Chairman
Pharmaceutical & Clinical Sciences
College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences
Campbell University

Ms. Jennifer Dew

IACUC Director
Sponsored Programs and Regulatory Compliance
North Carolina State University

Ms. Stephanie Evans

Research Compliance Officer
IRB Administrator
Division of Research and Economic Development
North Carolina A&T State University

Mr. J. Scott Gibson

Executive Vice Dean for Administration
School of Medicine
Duke University

Dr. Anna Hampton

Director, Office of Animal Welfare Assurance
Chair, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee
Duke University

Dr. Tracy Heenan

Director, Office of Animal Care and Use
Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dr. Undi Hoffler

Director, Research Compliance & Technology Transfer
Research and Economic Development
North Carolina Central University

Dr. Yvette M. Huet

Professor of Applied Physiology, Health & Clinical Sciences
Director, ADVANCE Faculty Affairs and Diversity Office
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Dr. Islam Khan

Compliance Officer
Winston-Salem State University

Dr. Dennis S. Kubasko, Jr.

Associate Professor
Watson College of Education, Instruction Technology, Foundations
and Secondary Education
University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Dr. David Kurtz Ex Officio

Veterinary Staff Scientist
Head, Quality Assurance Laboratory
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Dr. Barbara M. Lom

Beverly F. Dolan Professor of Biology
FIRST Program Director
Biology Department & Neuroscience Program
Davidson College

Ms. Shante’ C. Mathes

Director, Office of Research Protections
Administrator for IACUC & IBC programs
Office of Research Protections
Appalachian State University

Ms. Amanda Rhoads

BDTI IACUC Administrator
Vivarium Documentation Specialist
Becton Dickinson

Mr. Mark Snead

Site Supervisor
Mispro Biotech Services

Dr. Meredith Storms

Professor of Chemistry
University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Dr. Jamie Strong Ex Officio

Associate Director for Health and Ecology
Center for Public Health and Environmental Assessment
Office of Research and Development
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Marlena Westcott

Associate Professor in Microbiology & Immunology
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Dr. Elizabeth Wolfinger

Dean, Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Meredith College